Posted by: pdot78 | July 13, 2009

Week 52: Fin

DSCF2143

Hey guys,

Yes this is me karate kicking over one of my coworkers at the beach. We were there last weekend and I thought it would be fun.  This will be my last post from Japan. I am sitting in my hotel room now waiting for my girlfriend to wake up and reflecting on how amazing this experience has been for me. It seems like just yesterday that I was leaving the airport in Osaka to begin this adventure. Time flies when you are having fun and that is certainly a gross understatement of my life over this past year.

I am somewhat nervous for the return home as I am sure things will not be as I remember them. I think that this is an appropriate reaction though given that I felt a little nervous a few days before I left the first time. I also still have yet to go through any culture shock so I think it’s safe to say that it won’t happen. I think that people and the organization of their societies/cultures are interesting to analyze from a geographical and sociological perspective but in the end we are all human and that makes us the same. I had a great time learning about this particular country and how humans live here.

I have seen and participated in so many wonderful things that I will most likely still be talking about this trip when I am old and gray. The connections and friendships I have made over this past year are going to be with me forever. I am not quite sure what I should write now. I think that about covers it.

I would like to sincerely thank anyone and everyone who has taken the time to read this blog and check up on me this past year. It really meant a lot to me to know that people were supporting me in this little adventure. Even if you don’t even know me and read it, thank you very much, I hope you enjoyed my blog.

See you in Canada!

Paul

Responses

  1. I think I had as much fun reading your blog as you did writing it and doing all those things…It really felt like I was there with you buddy.

    You’d better check this in the next couple days lol, cause I want you to send me an email to say your officially back in Canada safe and sound.

    By the way, I would have thought your Karate would IMPROVE while you were in Japan; your kick COMPLETELY missed that girl…did she just happen to duck, or is she a ninja?

    Miss ya dude, see you in August, and WE HAD BETTER get some quality time in before then…the shredder isn’t gonna kick his own butt!! 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂

  2. Hey dude,

    read your blog EVERY week… and although i am going to miss it .. im super excited to have you back home…

    Im living in the falls now.. so let me know when you get home.. and maybe we can get together… I dunno… old school light saber fight sounds pretty good to me… just sayin… lol

    Have a safe trip home man…

  3. 3 days.

    Then a whirlwind rest stop, and you’re off on another adventure! I’m starting to get travel envy…

    See you very soon!!

  4. Hi Paul
    I have read all of your posts and seen all of your pictures. You have done an amazing job in letting us all be a part of your adventure. I think this blog made it easier for everyone to stay up to date. I think we are all VERY happy to have you back and even though you are going away in just a couple of days, soon enough you will be here to stay and that’s when all the Japan stories are going to roll in… Welcome back, glad you had a blast while staying in Japan and see you soooooon


Leave a Reply

Categories

