Posted by: pdot78 | April 1, 2009

Week 38.5: Ume (Plum) Blossoms

Hey guys,

I just found out that my company is relocating Randy and myself into different apartments! The upside is that I will be closer to work, the beach and the park by the river.  The downside is that we have to spend our next few weekends packing and moving.

I did however manage to get myself over to Hakusan park this past weekend to take pictures of the ume (plum) blossoms before they fall off. They are quite pretty. The park also has some monkeys so i put a picture of one in the middle. I am however morally opposed to the fact that they keep them in cages like that. I just dont have any pictures of monkeys.

In Japan, the ume blossoms are commonly used in poetry as a symbol of spring. This makes sense as they are quite pretty. Apparently they were actually preferred to the  sakura (cherry) blossoms in the Nara period(710-794), which didn’t gain it’s popularity until the Heian period(794-1185). I will give you the run down on sakuras when they bloom.

The cultural tradition is that the ume acts as a protective charm against evil. Apparently you should plant them in the north eastern part of your garden because that is the direction in which evil is believed to come. Obviously!

Here are my favourites.

Alright, I think you get the point. Here is a link to the rest of my ume pictures from that day.

http://www.flickr.com/photos/29590018@N06/sets/72157615981020257/show/with/3395023158/

Responses

  1. That monkey looks kinda sad…but the flowers are nice, so it all balances out.

    Have you and Randy thought about trying to rent a truck or van together, and splitting the price/workload? They might be able to recognize your Canadian driver’s license…and would be a hell of a lot easier than trying to bike everything in between

    Anyways, good luck with the move buddy, take care

  2. Gorgeous photos as always! I like to see that you are playing with editing them too.

  3. So how do you like your new place??? You should make a post about it and show some pictures
    Also when are you on skype???? I always seem to miss you

  4. Ooooh Pretty flowers Paul
    how was the move? At least youll be closer to everything now


Leave a Reply

Categories

