Posted by: pdot78 | August 6, 2008

Week 2: Mt. Yahiko and Shrine


Konbanwa Everyone,

So it’s been a pretty hectic week here in Niigata.

Firstly, get better Grammy, I know you will make a full recovery in no time at all.

Secondly, this being my first week actually doing the job, I think it went fairly well. The training only half prepared me for the actual job and the girl I replaced picked up the slack and finished off the rest of my preparation. The kids are great and I am learning more and more each day. The job itself (as are most jobs) was stressful at first but is greatly decreasing as I get better and more comfortable with everything. The last few days were my first on the job completely by myself and I am doing surprisingly well. I figured I would at least crash and burn for the first week and figure things out after but I seem to be doing alright.

This past weekend I climbed Mt. Yahiko with my co-NET(Native English Teacher). We took the train out to the area, which alone was a complete gamble on my part. It’s a good thing one of us knows what they are doing in this country since I obviously don’t. Randy got us to the mountain via trains and it took about 2 hours to reach the top. Mt. Yahiko apparently used to be a volcano a really long time ago and is the tallest mountain on the Sea of Japan. If you see an island in the distance its Sado Island and I will be visiting it shortly. Yahiko had a number of interesting torii’s and a cool shrine we visited on the way up.

I have a lot of neat things coming up this month so stay tuned. This weekend is a traditional Japanese fireworks festival and the official start to Obon Week, a week long holiday. The Monday of Obon I am going to climb Mt. Fuji and later in the week I am going to try to make it out to the Shrine in Nikko. Later in the month I also have tickets to a Sumo wrestling match with Yoshie, Randy, and Maguim! Segoi!

Heres my pictures from Yahiko. I still don’t have internet so the updating will still be spread out. I have also had to create a second, fake account for pictures because I have reached my limit on the first one. We can expect me to have gone through a good 5 or 6 accounts by the end of this year. Alright, Thats it for me for now!

http://www.flickr.com/photos/29277240@N05/sets/72157606572687464/show/

Responses

  1. Hi Paul,

    Just getting a chance to get caught up on reading your blog. What an adventure for you – I hope my kids have an opportunity to experience some of the things you are. We are loving your pictures. Keep them coming, it may be the only way we see Japan.

    Keep up the good work – I think you are a perfect fit for this adventure!

    XOXO

    P.S. Melanie and Shawn say “Hi”


Leave a Reply

Categories

